top of page
  • Greenish

Sustainable Online Shopping

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

I’ve been an avid online shopper for years. I buy at least half of my stuff online: I have better luck finding my size, it’s convenient to get stuff for the whole family, many of the sustainable products we use can only be found on the internet, and of course there’s that undeniable, psychological thrill when you click “buy now!” As I’ve gone greenish, however, I’ve become more aware of finding sustainable shipping and returns for my purchases. Can I still shop online guilt-free? Yes, and here’s how.


Ship Slow


Have you ever wondered why items coming from sustainable businesses can take longer to arrive?


Slower, more economical shipping options are usually the ones with the lowest carbon emissions.


So if you can wait, choose the slowest shipping option. I also try to shop from companies that commit to reducing their carbon footprint through sustainable business practices and carbon offsetting. Offsets typically support projects like renewable energy, tree planting, etc. You can often find information about these programs at the bottom of the website under the sustainability section.

Amazon Prime Delivery Day

Amazon now accounts for approximately 40% of all US e-commerce purchases, so chances are you, like me, have an order coming from Amazon at any given time.


If you are a Prime Member, you can sign up for a default Amazon Prime Delivery Day. This means any Amazon purchases you make will all arrive on one specific day, even if you made multiple purchases during the week. This means less packaging and fewer carbon emissions.


What if you set up an Amazon prime delivery day and then have a purchase emergency (forgot to buy that birthday gift, did you?)? No problem: you can specify one-off purchases to be delivered more quickly at check out.


Returns


Sometimes things just don’t work out. If you’re doing an Amazon return, you likely have the option to drop it off without a label or packaging at several nearby locations (UPS storefronts, Whole Foods, Kohls, etc.) This is the most climate-friendly option. I’ve also gotten a few items recently with a Happy Returns Bar option. Similar to Amazon’s return program, you can drop off your unwanted item at Fed Ex or other locations without a label or any packaging, and you usually see your refund within a few hours.


If I have to package my return, I reuse whatever box or mailer I have on hand. I also use paper packing tape instead of plastic.

If there is a brick-and-mortar store, should you send it back or return in-store? Remember, we’re greenish here! I would drive myself crazy trying to do sustainable math on this one. Generally, I try to return in-store if it’s nearby when I’m running errands, but otherwise I mail it back.


Packaging Recycling


Sorting and recycling online packaging is a headache. The good news is a lot of packaging can be recycled with minimal effort. The cardboard boxes can be broken down and recycled curbside.


Cardboard is one of the most recycled materials out there. But since wet cardboards can’t be recycled, only put those on the curb if it’s dry out.

Packing peanuts and Styrofoam are both typically very hard to recycle because they are not accepted in most curbside programs. After a quick search on Earth911 by zip code, I learned my local UPS store accepts packing peanuts and ABT Electronics accepts hard white Styrofoam. Poly bags and bubble wrap can be recycled at any store drop-off location. Most big box stores participate in plastic bag recycling. Check Earth911 or Bag and Film Recycling for a location near you. Plastic tape cannot be recycled and goes in the trash.


Look for the HOW2Reycle.info label on the packaging. This is just popping up everywhere and gives really clear directions on what to do with all of your packaging. Amazon also has this nice visual on their website that gives a lot of detail on how to recycle their different packaging options (including Whole Foods and Amazon Fresh packaging).


Watch for Sustainable Packaging


There are many new sustainable packaging options hitting the market. In fact, the other day I received a lamp and it was packaged using biodegradable cornstarch peanuts! They smell a little sweet (almost like an ice cream sugar cone) and they flake a bit. I tossed them in my kitchen sink, added water, and they quickly dissolved right down the drain. I also recently received a shirt from Everlane which was packaged in a cardboard mailer, and the shirt was in a poly bag alternative made from paper. Paper packing tape is also a nice alternative to the plastic stuff (for more on my thoughts about plastic, read here).

bottom of page