top of page
  • Greenish

Junk Mail

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

The average person receives about 41 pounds of junk mail each year…and sometimes, it can feel like way more than that. While recycling is always a good idea, I became fed up with just receiving junk mail. So I did some research and learned how to limit what ends up in my mailbox—and it was one of the easiest sustainable changes I’ve made. (It was also the first, so if you’re new to going greenish, here’s a great place to start!)


Opt-Outs


The first thing I did was make sure that we were receiving electronic statements wherever possible.


Beyond the usual monthly bills, I switched over things like doctor bills and insurance statements. My husband loves his paper statements, so this wasn’t an easy sell, but ultimately worth the effort.


Next, I removed our names from any credit card offers by going to www.optoutscreen.com. You can opt out for life or five years and it’s free to sign up. I did this for both of me and my husband. I also went to www.DMAchoice.org and opted out of receiving catalogs, magazine offers, and other mailers. The fee was $2.00 and only needs to be updated every ten years or if you move. Done!


Paper Karma


I quickly learned DMA distinguishes between “existing” and “prospective” customers, and only opts you out of “prospective” mailing lists. Did you know a single Pottery Barn purchase makes you a customer for life? So, I went a step further and downloaded Paper Karma.


For a small monthly fee, Paper Karma users can take a photo of the junk mail, and the app takes care of submitting your opt-out request. This works on catalogs, those pesky realtor postcards, charity solicitations, and even mail to a previous owner. It also lets users track the progress of the opt-out request (which is helpful if you’re impatient like me).

It can take up to three months for your name to be removed from some mailing lists because bulk mail is often printed several months in advance. Nowadays, I let the mail pile up all week, click a few photos via the Paper Karma app, recycle the junk, and I’m done.


Limiting junk mail is an easy and gratifying step to going greenish. Give it a try!


bottom of page